amee Attends Sustainia100 Launch Event

Representatives from amee attended the launch of Arnold Schwarzenegger’s prestigious sustainability award, which identifies the 100 most innovative sustainability solutions in the world


Arnie presents the award to last year’s winner

The event was held at The Crystal in London’s Docklands and brought together a range of leading industry figures and international companies.

amee was nominated in the IT category along with other innovative technology solutions such as Bidgely’s real time energy saving software and FLOOW2’s business-to-business marketplace.

A full list of the solutions can be downloaded here.

The event, held at the the world’s first dedicated urban sustainability centre, featured a number of high profile speakers including the renowned economist Professor Ioannis Ioannou and venture capitalist Dr Kim Tan.

Mr Schwarzenegger, Honourary Chair of Sustaina, endorsed the launch of the award with the following statement:

“Congratulations to the Sustainia100 for 2013. They are the true action heroes of sustainability. From Canada to Kenya to Guatemala to India, these solutions are proving that we can build communities that are both environmentally and economically sustainable today and for generations to come”.

We’ll be back

Sustainia was created after the failure to get meaningful agreement from the world’s leading nations at the 2009 Copenhagen climate negotiations.

A group of leading business leaders, including Monday Morning CEO Eric Rasmussen, wanted to focus on positive action and real world solutions instead of watching the frustrating spectacle of climate negotiators coming back year after year only to get minor concessions from one another.

The Sustainia100 award was first launched in 2012, the idea being to create a ‘sustainability oscar’ to identify those solutions which have greatest promise and potential impact.  

The winner will be decided by an elite panel including Mr Schwarzenegger himself, Connie Hedegaard – EU Commissioner for Climate Action – and Dr Rajendra Pachauri – Chair of the International Panel on Climate Change.

The winner will be announced at an event in Copenhagen in November.

Back to AMEE Blog